Brew Your Best Year Community Feature

 

Been a few months since i got featured as a community member of Brew Your Best Year Community (The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf). Just want to share this article not to boast but to hopefully inspire other aspiring artists out there. Here is my story as an artist.

WHO IS SHE? Babylynne Nuesca Apura, 36 years old.
WHAT DOES SHE DO? Lynne is a Senior Designer by day and a part-time entrepreneur. She is passionate about doing art, which she does on the side.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes1

1.Tell us about your story as an artist. How did you discover your love for art?
When I was young, I dreamt of becoming a dentist. But during the very last minute of enrollment, I chose Architecture. It wasn’t until after graduating from college when I realized that arts and architecture had always been my passion. I’ve always loved expressing myself by writing on my journals.  I would doodle on my notes and create illustrations not realizing at that time that I was already creating art. During high school and college, I was too focused on my studies to the point that I stopped doodling and drawing; I stopped creating art. Architecture may be focused on drawing and design as well, but I was doing it only for the sake of submitting my plates and to get good grades. Eventually I started working and due to the emergence of new technology, I started to draw using computer. Gone were the days i was doing arts and my passion for arts died down…

I got married and during all the years that my husband and I have been together, I was always by his side, watching him when he would create artworks and paintings. I was so fascinated with his creations. One time, I asked him what he got out of painting and drawing, when he does it only for his own viewing and for our home’s ‘Art Wall’. He answered, “happiness.”

He told me to try it. He gave me a blank canvas, paint brushes and acrylic paint. I doubted my capabilities and questioned myself, thinking that I was too old to be learning and creating art again. My husband urged me and said, “Just let go. Let your creative juices flow and keep on practicing.” From that day on, I did not only stand by his side to watch him; I became his “Artsy Arts Buddy” and the passion I had in creating art started burning again. I may not be the best artist out there but all that I create, gives me that happiness my husband was talking about.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes2

2. What kind of artist are you? Describe your style and how has this changed through the years.
I’m the kind who just draws or doodles, wherever and whenever I feel like it. That is why I always have a small sketchbook with me, because I never want to let creative ideas slip my mind. If ever I don’t have my sketchbook with me, I just sketch or draw on whatever paper is available. As the years passed, I explored using new art mediums such as acrylic paints, pen and ink, watercolors.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes3

I also love to learn from other artists, get inspiration from them, and try out other art forms such as paper cutting, calligraphy, and hand lettering. I just want to try my hand at every kind of art.

3. What is the highlight of your practice so far?
One of the best surprises ever was when an art piece I created was featured in the DIY page of Real Living magazine. When I saw my work, it made me so happy.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes4

Another highlight was the day I got a message to create cup art for the Brew Your Best Year Community, in commemoration of Rizal Day. I was thrilled and nervous because it was my first time to do something that was going to be used on social media (on a page other than mine) but at the same time, happy that the community loved what I did. This inspired me to create more.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes5

Last but not the least, is my first ever commissioned art piece was a challenge for me because it was my largest piece of painting yet. I was happy that I was able to finish it and this inspired me to push through with my arts and crafts business venture.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes6

4. Where do you get inspiration?
I usually get inspiration from the things I see around me: by simply looking at nature, God’s wonderful creations, and translating what I see into an art piece. Every piece I create is inspired by the quote I learned from the Brew Your Best Year Community: “Making My Life My Best Masterpiece”. Every color, every pattern I put in paper, also corresponds to the colors and patterns I want to put in my life, keeping in mind that God is the artist, and I am His masterpiece, allowing Him to paint my Life the way he intended it to be.

5. What is your creative process like?
Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes8

It always starts with my mood and how I feel. I usually sit down, stare at my blank canvas, and when something inspirational strikes me, I start doodling or creating my art piece.

6. Do you experience creative blocks? What do you do when this happens?
Yes, I think everybody experiences this. Whenever I experience creative blocks, I step out to clear my mind and either:

a) Tend to my cacti and succulents in the garden

b) Go to the mall and hoard art materials

c) Travel and explore (if I have the time and the budget)

d) Go to a coffee shop and read books

e) Color— I’m an adult coloring book addict!

7. How do you choose what artwork to create?
I usually create artworks based on how I feel and what inspires me that day. I create artworks that showcase what I want to tell or show the world since my art is the window to my soul, and an expression of myself.

8. Who are some of the individuals you look up to in line with your craft?
My husband, Dale, is one of the people I look up to, especially since he was the one who reignited the spark in me so I could create art again.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes9

 

One of my favorite local artists is Mark Dean Lim. I love his adult coloring books. His style is, in a way, similar to what I want to create. I would never forget the day when I met him. He was busy doodling on the wall during Manila FAME, high up on the scaffolding, but he was so sweet and kind enough to stop what he was doing to come down for me.Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes10

 

Alexis Ventura is someone I look up to when it comes to calligraphy. I met her personally during The Giving Journal 2016 launch. She was the sweetest! I got to let her sign The Ink and Scribbler’s Adult Coloring Book. I was also so happy that she liked some of my works that she even started taking photos of them, and posting them on Instagram. Another artist appreciating my work was overwhelming.
Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes11

 

My husband had told me about Van Gogh. I was immediately inspired by his works, the story of his life, and his journey as an artist. His Starry Night painting is my favorite work of his.

9. What’s your favorite artwork that you’ve created?
All of it! I guess I like everything I have created mainly because every piece is unique and means many things. As I’ve shared, every piece conveys what I feel or what I want to tell my audience, it’s a form of self-expression.

10. What kinds of challenges are associated with your craft, and how do you overcome them?
When I started working full time again as a Senior Designer, I would spend most of my time in the office and on the road. I haven’t had time to do arts & crafts in the past 2 months, and I realized that I had to do something about my time management skills. Now, I make sure that I have time to work on my crafts even for just an hour or two on weekdays and weekends. I’m currently filling in the missing pieces of my life.

11. What are your biggest lessons as an artist?
As an artist, we should always continue to learn and explore new things. Be yourself and always create art that comes from the heart, art that speaks your mind. Never let anyone dictate what you should do. Accept all criticism, be it negative or positive, as since they are all part of your growth as an artist. Always have a positive outlook

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes12

12. What do you believe is an important factor in creating a good piece of art?
You have to put your whole heart and self into it. When I do, I am able to create something that speaks about me— what I feel and what I want to impart or share with others that I hope can inspire them.

13. What advice can you give the community, especially emerging artists?
Don’t be afraid to express yourself through art. Find your own niche. Keep practicing to hone your God-given talent, keep creating art with a purpose, have the will to inspire others, and keep pursuing your dreams! My own mantra is, “We are never too old to pursue our dreams.” I may have started late, but I still continue to pursue my passion in the arts.Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 5.56.27 PM

14. What is Brew Your Best Year to you and how has it inspired you as an artist
The Brew Your Best Year Community has become a part of my journey as an artist. I never thought that a community like it existed until I got to join one of their workshops with Martine De Luna. The community gave me the opportunity to meet people with different personalities, all coming together for the same love for the arts. Not only did I meet people who loved art, but I also gained friends and even built what feels like a family.

Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes15

For the months that I have been with the Community, I have had the opportunity to express and share my talent through their activities. I would say that those experiences are one of my most memorable as an artist. Whenever I would see the positive comments about my work from different people, I would feel more inspired to keep creating art.Coffee Bean Life - arkibabes16

Brew Your Best Year is a community that is true to their advocacy of helping their members become the best versions of themselves so they can reach out and give back to others. I gained confidence in myself as an artist by being a part of this community, and I have been inspired to become a better version of myself. For that, I will forever be grateful.Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 5.56.57 PM

Leave a Reply

